It was originally founded in the early 16th century in the old neighbourhood of La Villa, but due to its small size and poor condition, it was moved to its current location, known as La Concepción. As the statue of Our Lady of Grace was older and had also been donated by the Catholic Monarchs, the convent was renamed to the name by which we know it today.
The present building was constructed in 1555 and features a beautiful Mudejar-style cloister and a lovely Mudejar courtyard; its church has a single nave with a beautiful Baroque niche, as does its façade. The church was renovated in the 18th century following the famous Lisbon earthquake of 1884, giving it its current Baroque appearance.
The Monastery of Our Lady of Grace, the Poor Clares, It has been home to nuns of this order for over 500 years. It has been designated a Site of Cultural Interest (BIC) by the Regional Government of Andalusia, currently in private hands.
The church has a single nave, with paired Corinthian columns set against the wall, covered by a barrel vault and featuring a choir at the foot of the nave, decorated with plaster rocaille, scallop shells and garlands. The chancel features a beautiful niche covered by a half-dome resting on pendentives, with delicate Rococo ornamentation that bears a strong stylistic and decorative resemblance to the Camerín de La Piedad.
The church’s entrance, which opens onto the side, was designed as a portico with nine arches separated by pillars, although the side openings are now bricked up. The façade is crowned by a niche framed by volutes, topped with green ceramic pinnacles and a weather vane.