What to do in Axarquía-Costa del Sol

The interior of the Axarquia-Costa del Sol combines nature, history y tradition in a unique setting. Walk through its charming villages, discover its trails and enjoy authentic experiences in the heart of the mountains. Here you will find options for exploring and disconnecting.

What to do
Necropolis of Trayamar

Algarrobo, Malaga

Trayamar is a Phoenician necropolis from the 7th century BC, located on the right bank of the Algarrobo River, and is one of the most important Phoenician sites in the western Mediterranean. Its relevance lies in the evolution of funerary customs, from cremation to burial, documented through the strata of the hypogeum. Valuable pieces of grave goods have been found, such as the Trayamar Medallion. The German Archaeological Institute in Madrid excavated five tombs, but three were destroyed before they could be studied.

Centre for Art and Popular Development

Alcaucin

It is a newly constructed building, where there is an assembly hall, training rooms and an exhibition hall.

Monday to Friday, 10:30-13:30h

El Alcázar Recreational Area

Alcaucín, Málaga

The Sierra del Alcázar Nature Reserve, in the Sierra Tejeda, is a recreational area next to the river Alcaucín, ideal for routes to the peak of La Maroma. The small waterfalls and the vegetation surrounding the stream are outstanding.

An impressive gorge forms further down, before reaching the reservoir of La Viñuela. From a viewpoint, you can appreciate the rock formations created by erosion in the river and the nearby mountains.

Church of Our Lady of the Rosary

Alcaucín, Málaga

The church of Alcaucín, founded on 21 April 1732, has a simple structure with two naves separated by pillars and three semicircular arches. Its current roof is a restoration, but the original roof, of pair and knuckle, is known. Its rococo chapel stands out, with a decoration of garlands and flowers, and a vault with ribs and a central rose window.

Inside there are images such as the Virgin of Sorrows, the Nazarene from the 19th century, and an Immaculate Conception and Infant Jesus from the 18th century. Restored after 1945, its exterior façade has a doorway with a semicircular bay, pilasters and a split pediment. The belfry has two semicircular arches and a central oculus in the triangular pediment.

Jesús del Calvario Chapel

Alcaucín, Málaga

The chapel, located in Calvario Street and built in the 18th century, has a square ground plan and a doorway with a semicircular arch on pilasters. Founded by Mrs. Ana de Béjar, it is Baroque in style and, being the chapel of the local cemetery, it has a great cult among the neighbours.

On 23 July 1936, the hermitage suffered the destruction of the carving of Jesús del Calvario and its altarpiece, as well as other damages. However, the neighbours, moved by their devotion, later restored the destroyed artistic ensemble.

Zalia Castle

Alcaucín, Málaga

The castle, located on the left bank of the road to Granada, was rebuilt by the Arabs on the site of a Phoenician fortress by the river of the same name.

The Arabs built its current double ring of walls and it was conquered by the Catholic Monarchs in 1485. After the war of the Alpujarras, it became a prison-bishopric, which marked the beginning of its decline, culminating at the end of the 16th century. Today it is in ruins.

This castle is one of the oldest remains of fortifications, with elements suggesting that it may have been built by the Phoenicians and occupied by various civilisations. It was used by the Arabs and later by the Christians as a prison-bishopric. Some historians, such as Diego Vázquez Otero, speculate that it may be the ancient Odyscia, mentioned in the stories of Ulysses.

Fountain of the Five Spouts

Alcaucín, Málaga

Located in Calle de la Fuente, there is no evidence of its construction. Its current appearance is the result of the restoration carried out in the 1990s.
This popular fountain, known as the "Cinco Caños" (Five Spouts), is named, indisputably after the five pumps that water gushes out of it without interruption. It is said that the spring has never dried up.

As a singular fact, its water comes out very cool in summer and in winter it is warmer to the delight of the palate. According to tradition, if you drink from the middle pipe, you will marry a young man or woman from the village.

City of Zalia (Mesa de Zalia)

Alcaucín, Málaga

The place is well communicated with the basin of the river Alcaucín and the Boquete de Zafarraya, access roads to the Granada high plateau.

The scarce archaeological record in the mountainous arc formed by the Almijara, Tejeda and Alhama sierras, which served as a backdrop during these stages, shows this territory as a foreseeable frontier between the Byzantine and Visigothic worlds, exercising control functions, mainly in the area of Campo de Zafarraya.

In the early stages of the formation of al-Andalus, written sources report that Arab and Berber armies penetrated this area of the Upper Axarquia only sparsely. Although there is evidence of the establishment of Berber groups in Zafarraya or Alhama from the second half of the 8th or early 9th century onwards, in general, the sparse population that occupied this rugged mountainous area was presumably of indigenous origin; they are those identified in the written sources as Mozarabs. The toponymy of some of the towns in the area, such as Sayalonga, Sedella or Corumbela, refer to this pre-Islamic origin.

La Mesa de Zalía would be one of the places inhabited by these communities. The location of wall remains, ceramic materials found on the surface and the presence of tombs excavated in the rock point to occupation between the 9th and 11th centuries.

The city of Zalía was located on the mesa of the same name (Mesa de Zalía), at the gates of the Zafarraya pass. Some authors identify it with the Phoenician city of Tágara, others, however, connect it with the mythical Odiscya.

There is a Christian legend which tells us that the bishop of Malaga, Saint Patrick made a trip to the town to convert its people, but he did not achieve his aims. It is said that as a punishment, he caused the ground to open up and snakes began to emerge and bite the inhabitants of Zalía during the day. The inhabitants had to flee the place and the town is deserted to this day.

El Alcázar Recreational Area

Alcaucín, Málaga

Located in the heart of the Sierra Tejeda mountain range, an obligatory stop on some of the walking routes that lead to the peak of La Maroma, the highest peak in Malaga at 2,068 m., with excellent facilities for a day in the countryside.

This is a recreational area, located on the banks of the river Alcaucín. The small waterfalls that form in the first few metres of the course of this stream and the thick vegetation that surrounds it are some of the natural attractions of this charming spot.

Recommendations:

  • REMEMBER, DRIVING MOTORISED VEHICLES WITHIN THE RECREATION AREA IS NOT PERMITTED.
  • AVOID MAKING NOISE
  • HELP TO AVOID THE POSSIBILITY OF A FIRE
  • RESPECT PRIVATE GOODS AND PROPERTY
  • PLACE RUBBISH IN CONTAINERS. NEVER LEAVE IT OUTSIDE.
Boquete de Zafarraya Cave

Alcaucín, Málaga

The Boquete de Zafarraya Cave is located on the southern slopes of the Alhama mountain range, in the municipality of Alcaucín. Its mouth is located to the southwest of the impressive gorge carved by an ancient riverbed and of the known as "Boquete de Zafarraya", a natural feature that dominates the landscape of the Upper Axarquia.

Although the cave had been known to Malaga's speleological groups since the 1970s, it was not until 1981 that the first archaeological excavations began inside the cave, which lasted until 1983.

Subsequently, between 1990 and 1994, work continued in the cave by an international research team. Although it is not a large cave, it is home to a site with a very extensive preserved sequence that begins in the Middle Palaeolithic and ends in the Neolithic, although there is also material evidence of a certain use or frequentation during the Middle Ages.
It is one of the most important sites for the study of the European Upper Pleistocene.

 

 

Arab Baths Las Majadas

Alcaucín, Málaga

They are a archaeological ruins which are located 5 kilometres from the town of Alcaucín. The access is complex and only one spring remains. Due to their composition and sulphide content, its waters are particularly suitable for the treatment of skin conditions, which is why these facilities were built.

Santo Cristo Hill

Alfarnate, Malaga

The Santo Cristo hill, located near Alfarnate, offers panoramic views of the village, the valley and the surrounding mountains. At the top is a small altar with the image of the Christ of Medinaceli, visited by believers on the first Friday in March, and is the last stop on the old Way of the Cross in the town.

The viewpoint, which has picnic areas and rest areas, is ideal for walks, surrounded by native plants such as Spanish firs, cypresses and matagallos. A "Cruceiro" cross has recently been installed to remind us of the cross that used to be in the area. It also offers a swing with spectacular views, perfect for both children and adults to enjoy the scenery.

Hermitage of the Virgin of Monsalud

Alfarnate, Malaga

The hermitage of the Virgen de Monsalud, built at the beginning of the 17th century. It was built on the spot where, according to legend, a neighbour came because a dog wouldn't stop barking. In fact, it was the apparition of the Virgin of Monsalud. The current image is not the original one, destroyed during the civil war. The chapel has a whitewashed façade at the front and a stone and brick wall at the back. It has two storeys, with a portico of three arches and a belfry-belfry.

Inside, there is a neo-baroque chapel from 1957, with a vault decorated in rococo style and an altarpiece that hides the image of the Virgin. The chapel has a floor plan with two naves separated by semicircular arches and a choir raised at the foot of the main nave.

La Venta de Alfarnate

Alfarnate, Malaga

The Venta del Toro, located at the foot of the Chamizo peak, on the old Royal Road between Malaga and Granada, dates back to the 13th century, although its current structure originated in the 17th century. It was a rest stop for travellers, including prisoners transferred to the Royal Chancery. It is the oldest still standing in Andalusia and has witnessed the presence of historical figures such as kings, politicians and bandits.

Inside, there is a dungeon where the bandit Luis Candelas spent the night and a room where prisoners were held. A shackle from the period is also preserved. The inn was the scene of several robberies, including one by a bandit gang in 1850. Today it houses a restaurant and the Museum of Andalusian Banditry, and was formerly a cultural centre with exhibitions and various activities.

Gran Senda de Málaga Viewpoint

Alfarnate, Malaga

This is a recently built viewpoint located on the site of the former rubbish dump. Refurbished for this new use, it is a rest area with benches, a swing and other attractions for children that invites rest and meditation with views of the Sierra del Jobo, Tajo de la Palomera and the Tres Mogotes, among others.

Ejido recreational area

Alfarnate, Malaga

It is a free camping area which is located next to the Municipal Sports Centre of Alfarnate, in the area of Los Pinos de El Ejido. It has approximately 10 spaces for motorhomes and lighting points.

To make use of the facilities, you only have to contact the Town Hall to make the request. Telephone: 952 759 028

Church of Santo Cristo de Cabrilla

Alfarnatejo, Malaga

The church, which dates back to the 18th century but was rebuilt in 1977, is situated in the highest part of the village and is known as the church of Santo Cristo de la Cabrilla. This church stands out among the houses and buildings in the centre of Alfarnatejo.

It was built with a simple plan structure that follows the traditional rectangular model with two naves, separated by semicircular arches.

On the outside, the quadrangular, massive tower stands out, built in Mudejar-style fired brick.

Archaeological Remains. Sabar River Gorge

Alfarnatejo, Malaga

As for the archaeological sites to be found in Alfarnatejo, on the outskirts of the village, close to the Tajo de Gómer, we can see the ruins of the old Arab castle, and in the gorge of the river Sábar, important Neolithic remains have been found, dating back some 5,000 years.

In addition, in the Tajos de Vilo, the Pela Horá cave, the Chamizo caves and the Morronquera cave or the Cortijo de la Cueva shelter there are pictorial remains from the Palaeolithic to the Chalcolithic periods.

Cortijo Pulgarín Bajo Mill Museum

Alfarnatejo, Malaga

Cortijo Pulgarín Bajo, located in the Axarquía Malagueña, is a rural complex of 600,000 m² that includes three houses: the Cortijo, the Aprisco and the Mirador. It stands out for its old oil mill, which still conserves its original machinery, and produces high quality "verdial" oil. It also has a 16×8 m swimming pool, orchard with fruit trees, gardens, barbecues and a basketball court.

Leaning Tower

Algarrobo, Malaga

The "Ladeada" Tower is a Christian construction dating from after the Reconquest, with a truncated cone shape, 10 metres high and 23 metres in perimeter. It is made of limestone masonry, and although it is plastered on the outside, it is believed that the plastering dates from the 16th century. The tower has a solid base, a brick vault on the first floor, and two windows: one to the north and the other facing the sea. It has an 18º inclination due to shallow foundations on the sand of the beach, which is affected by tides and strong winds. It is also known as the "portichuelo" tower.

Right Tower

Algarrobo, Malaga

The "Torre Nueva" or "Torre Derecha" is an 18th-century fort with a truncated conical base and a cylindrical body. It has a surface area of 182 m² and three sections: a first hollow body used as a store and powder magazine, a second cylindrical body for guard duty, and the hollowed out section, from where coastal surveillance was carried out and smoke signals were sent out in case of danger. It is called "right" in contrast to the "tilted" tower and "new" because it was built after the latter. The tower also had a staircase connected by a drawbridge.

Hermitage of San Sebastián

Algarrobo, Malaga

The Ermita de San Sebastián, originally from the 16th century, was rebuilt in 1976 due to its poor condition. The new structure, located 100 metres from its original location at the top of the Egido hill, is an exact copy of the previous one. It has a cross plan, with a pair-and-row truss in the nave and an octagonal turret on trumpets in the transept. The façade is crowned by a triangular belfry and has a door with a semicircular arch flanked by pilasters. Over the centuries, the chapel was remodelled, and after its demolition, it was replicated, maintaining its original appearance, complemented by beautiful gardens.

Church of Santa Ana

Algarrobo, Malaga

The Church of Santa Ana, founded in 1505, dates from the late 16th or early 17th century. It was rebuilt after the damage caused by the Moorish uprising. It has a Latin cross floor plan, three naves and Mudejar wooden frames. Its rococo dressing rooms and several images stand out, such as the Jesús Nazareno (1941) and the Virgen de los Dolores (18th-19th centuries). The clocks in its tower were added in the 1960s. The cemetery, initially located in front of the church, was moved in the 19th century.

Morro de Mezquitilla

Algarrobo, Malaga

The site of Morro de Mezquitilla, located on a hill above the river Algarrobo, was a peninsula in Phoenician times. The oldest remains are from the Chalcolithic period, but the most significant occupation is from the archaic Phoenician period (9th-5th centuries BC). Roman remains were also found up to the 1st century BC. The site includes square-plan dwellings and metallurgical furnaces, indicating a metal recycling area. Its material is crucial to studies of the Phoenician world on the Iberian Peninsula.

Goat Street

Almáchar, Málaga

The first settlements in this village took place along the banks of the river, and they gradually climbed up the hillside, often using the front house as a support.

The buildings are low, with one or two floors at most, masonry, tiled roofs and an interior courtyard.

In the labyrinth of its narrow streets, the Calle de Los Mártires stands out, surrounding the church which, in order to overcome the difference in level, was built on the same street, resting on a barrel vault that joins the church with the house in front of it.

Parish of San Mateo

Almáchar, Málaga

The parish church of San Mateo is a building that has stood in the centre of the village since the 16th century.

It is of gothic renaissance style, it has three naves, inside we can find two rococo style dressing rooms with images of the "dolorossa" and the heart of Jesus.

There is a main altar where the Cristo de la Misericordia or Cristo de la Banda Verde (Christ of Mercy or Christ of the Green Band) is located and there is a tradition that attributes to him the salvation of some sailors who were shipwrecked on the coast.

On the outside of the church, above the entrance door, is the Mudejar-style curved tower.

Sultana Museum

Almáchar, Málaga

The Raisin Museum is dedicated to the cultivation of sultanas, the main source of livelihood for more than 90% of the local population. It recreates traditional village life in the early 20th century, displaying tools such as pruning shears, esparto grass ropes, mallets, and a sieve for sorting the sultanas. Work tools such as hoes, axes and carving tools are also on display, as well as farming footwear from the 1920s. The museum includes items such as bread kneaders and antique utensils, as well as a collection of lithographs on the history of the sultana trade.

María Zambrano Park (Almáchar)

Almáchar, Málaga

In this park different activities take place, such as cultural events, concerts during the fair in honour of the Virgen del Amparo and other activities like the last one we have had, such as the carnival. It also has a playground where children can have fun playing.

Rainbow Park

Almáchar, Málaga

You can find this park if you go straight along Cornellá de Llobregat street and a little bit below carril de la constitución, there you can find a park for the children where they can have fun and play, for the parents there is a kiosk where they can have tapas and buy sweets for the children.

Mudejar minaret

Árchez, Málaga

The minaret of Árchez, a 14th-century Almohad architectural jewel, is today the bell tower of the church of Nuestra Señora de la Encarnación. With a height of 15 metres, its red brick tower is decorated with plant and abstract motifs. Declared a Historic-Artistic Monument in 1979, it is still in good condition. Local legend has it that a lizard was embedded in a bell when it was cast in 1876. It is believed that touching or kissing its relief helps to find a mate.

Streets of Árchez

Árchez, Málaga

Árchez, known as the 12th century Merinite Jewel, has a Moorish origin that is reflected in its narrow streets and compact houses. The town centre is small and of moderate relief. The architecture combines traditional houses with gabled roofs or more recent terraces, many with their own wells. In addition, some houses inspired by the style of Gaudí add a unique and picturesque touch to the village.

The Eulalio Mill (Winkler)

Árchez, Málaga

Old flour mill used in the post-war period for the distribution of food for the rationing cards. It is currently owned by a German family, the Winklers, who have an agreement with the university in Germany and during the summers art students come to visit the municipality to paint its streets and natural environment.

Church of Ntra. Sra. de la Encarnación

Árchez, Málaga

It dates back to the 15th century. It is a Mudejar-style building with a single, simple nave and three chancels behind the chancel. The entrance door is limited to a semicircular arch opening in a rectangle in the form of an alfiz. On the side walls there are several niches with various images. It was built on the site of a former mosque of which only the minaret remains, an Almohad architectural jewel from the 14th century.

Today it serves as a bell tower attached to the church.

Peace Square and cemetery

Arenas, Malaga

The Plaza de la Paz is home to essential services such as the school, sports centre, swimming pool, car park, mortuary and cemetery, as well as being the centre of the August fair and the Día de la Mula.

The cemetery, renovated in 1934, has a semicircular arched entrance and an elegant colour scheme. Its hillside design, with rows of trees and staggered blocks, creates a monofocal perspective effect, transforming it into an inviting walkway.

Fountain and Cantarranas Street

Arenas, Malaga

The fountain is located at the beginning of one of the most unique streets in Arenas, as it contains all the essential ingredients of traditional Andalusian streets: narrow, winding, steeply sloping, adorned with flowerpots and bordered by whitewashed houses.

The mosaic on the fountain shows two women washing in the river, as was done in the olden days. This street parallel to the river probably gave access to the place where the women of the village gathered to wash their clothes.

Market Square and Entrance Arch

Arenas, Malaga

Located in the lowest part of the village, it owes its name to the old Arenas market, built in the middle of the last century. It had the shape of a pigeon house and was located in the traditional market area.

A little further down, in the Pozo de los Corredores, the village farmers used to meet to sell their produce to the dealers who came from other towns to buy, as if it were an open-air market. Nowadays, this well is located inside a house, next to the old entrance arch of the village.

Plaza de la Ermita and the Perchel district

Arenas, Malaga

It owes its name to the old Hermitage of San Sebastián, which dates back to 1631. Only the walls and the physiognomy of what must have been the bell tower on the south façade, just above where the original door was, remain. In the middle of the last century it was already in private hands, it was used as a cinema and you can still make out the small window that was used as a box office. It is now the headquarters of a political party.

In this same square we can also see a building from the second half of the last century, which was used as the Town Hall and has now been converted into a doctor's surgery.

The neighbourhood in which it is located, Barrio del Perchel, has that Moorish air characteristic of the villages of La Axarquía.

Statue of the mule

Arenas, Malaga

At the entrance to the village there is a monument in homage to the mule, a symbol of effort and nobility in agricultural work. Sculpted by José Manuel Casamayor, it was inaugurated on 12 October 2014, coinciding with the Mule Fair.

This annual event celebrates the historical importance of the mule in the agriculture of the Axarquia and combines trade, dance, crafts and tradition, promoting local culture in an atmosphere of fraternisation.

Large Source

Arenas, Malaga

The Fuente Grande, of medieval origin and listed as a Protected Historical Heritage Site, is a square structure with an octagonal bulbous roof. Its interior conserves masonry walls and a hemispherical dome supported by pendentives.

The water, of underground origin, is used for irrigation and, although its flow is low, it is never exhausted. At present, a drainage system maintains a constant flow into a basin, replacing an old piping system that is no longer functioning.

Mirador de los Arcos

Arenas, Malaga

A meeting and entertainment place for our elders, which invites us to take a break and enjoy the views offered by this peculiar balcony.

Plaza del Barrio Alto

Arenas, Malaga

One of the most picturesque squares in Arenas, a meeting place for locals where we can refresh ourselves thanks to its central fountain.

From here we can observe the popular Andalusian architecture, with centuries of history, of houses with whitewashed façades and ceramic roofs that follow one after the other in no apparent order to create a unique atmosphere of winding yet steep streets.

Women's corner

Arenas, Malaga

This corner was inaugurated in the year 2021 in commemoration of International Women's Day. A place that invites us to rest and at the same time to reflect on what the celebration of this day means.

A place dedicated to the role of women in the development of our towns. Their work is essential for the subsistence of their families and communities, they are a fundamental part of the agricultural work, they are also the ones who keep traditions alive, promote education, take care of their families and preserve our towns.

It is a sign of the commitment of society as a whole to these women, whose daily work lays the foundations for a brighter future for all.

 

Church of Santa Catalina Mártir

Arenas, Malaga

The church, originally a mosque until 1505, retained its brick minaret and Mudéjar structure, although it was reduced from three to two sections due to its inclination. Its coffered ceiling and bell tower reflect the Andalusian influence on the Mudejar style.

On 13 November 1926, an accidental fire destroyed the church, consuming the Renaissance altarpiece and the ceiling. Only a few books and the chalice of the tabernacle were saved. Its reconstruction began in 1944 thanks to collections and donations, allowing the acquisition of new, more modest images.

Arabic minaret of Daimalos

Arenas, Malaga

This minaret, one of the oldest in Spain, is older than those of Árchez, Corumbela and Salares, and a twin of the one that disappeared in Arenas. Its interior is narrow, designed only for the passage of the muezzin.

With a square floor plan, it has four sections of different heights separated by imposts. Its interior houses a quadrangular staircase around a central pillar. The second section is notable for its blind horseshoe arches and its Mudejar finial with bells in semicircular openings. The tower, with a four-sided roof, is supported by a light-coloured wooden frame.

Fountain of Love

Arenas, Malaga

It is located in a small hamlet of Arenas called Daimalos. Legend has it that during the Muslim period, a girl lived in the farmhouse who saw her youth pass without finding a suitor, and fearing that she would be single, she sought the advice of a holy man from the neighbouring Sayalonga. The wise old man advised the girl to drink from the spring several times a day.

She did so and, soon after, love was born. The young woman, radiant with happiness, told her friends what had happened and the legend was created: "whoever drinks the water from the spring in Daimalos, finds love".

Bentomiz Castle

Arenas, Malaga

Bentomiz Castle, one of the largest in the province, has its origins in a Roman fortification, although its present-day architecture clearly reflects the medieval Muslim influence. Its strategic location allowed it to control the Axarquia all the way to the sea, which is the origin of the place name Bentomiz, derived from the Latin montemar.

It played a key role in the 9th century during Ibn Hafsun's revolt against the Qur'anic state and in later centuries. The castle consists of two main areas: the citadel in the higher area to the north and a larger enclosure to house the population and livestock in times of danger.

Hermitage of San Sebastián

Av. de Torrox, 14, 18, 29754 Cómpeta, Málaga

It is believed that its current location corresponds to the old town centre. At the base stands a statue of the patron saint of Cómpeta.
It is a simple 18th-century building comprising a single nave covered by a semi-spherical vault supported by pendentives.

It is a simple 18th-century building comprising a single nave covered by a semi-spherical vault supported by pendentives. Of particular note is the semicircular arch framed by pilasters and topped by a simple bell gable with a single opening.

 

Alfarnate Town Hall

Alfarnate Town Hall, Alfarnate, Malaga

The Town Hall or Casa Consistorial, located in the Plaza de la Constitución, dates back to the end of the 16th century and was built at the end of the 16th century. is the oldest functioning town hall in the province. It has been used for various purposes throughout history, such as a granary, public school, library, prison during the civil war and teleclub. It is a Mudejar-style buildingThe property has been renovated several times and consists of two floors.

The ground floor has arcades with three semicircular arches and a groin vault. The upper floor has three narrower arches, with a balcony-like latticework. The façade combines the exposed brick voussoirs of the arches with the whitewash of the rest of the building, creating a characteristic decorative mix.

Arcos de la Huerta

Benamargosa, Malaga

The Arco de la Huerta is evidence of the agricultural importance of the village since ancient times, supplying irrigation for the numerous crops in the fertile plain. The date of construction is not known.

The Ten Eyes Bridge

Benamargosa, Malaga

The bridge joins the banks of the Benamargosa River, built in response to the need to access the fertile lands adjacent to the continuous expansion of this enclave.

Cemetery Hermitage

Benamargosa, Malaga

The chapel of the cemetery of Benamargosa is of a popular and simple character. This religious building was ordered to be built in 1840 by Doña María de Santiago to bury her husband.

Church of the Incarnation

Benamargosa, Malaga

The church, built at the end of the 16th century on an octagonal plan, has three naves and an adjoining tower. Inside, there is an octagonal niche on the Gospel side, preceded by an antechapel with an elliptical vault. It is located in the lower part of the village and is the oldest and most important building, erected on the site of an old mosque. The 28-metre nave is separated by pointed arches on pillars. During the 17th century the chapel of Jesús Nazareno was added, with rococo plasterwork, and underneath the church there is a crypt and cemetery from the first years of its construction.

San Sebastian Chapel

Benamargosa, Malaga

Located in Ermitas Street, it was recently built and houses the Virgen de la Purísima.

Barrio de la Solana and Barrio de los Pechuelos

Benamargosa, Malaga

The La Solana neighbourhood and the Pechuelos neighbourhood These are two charming, traditional corners of the old town of Benamargosa, a white village situated in the Axarquía region of Málaga. These neighbourhoods feature narrow, winding streets and stairways that wind their way upwards, creating landings adorned with plant pots and flowers.

From both neighbourhoods, you can enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the Benamargosa River valley, the citrus and tropical fruit orchards, and the rest of the town centre

House-Mill of Concha Collantes

Benamocarra, Malaga

The mill dates from the end of the 18th century and was in operation until March 1964. The courtyard has a cobbled floor, millstones, pillars and a mezzanine with black beams from the milling process; the farmyard with the olive stands, the pens for the livestock and the cellars. In some of the rooms, furniture and household furnishings have been preserved, and in the kitchens, the brick sinks, bowls and basins have been preserved.

The house is a veritable museum which is open to the public on special days.

Fountain of Los Caños

Benamocarra, Malaga

The source of the fountain is a spring that flowed behind a Moorish arch, which today is covered and whitewashed. The walled structure corresponds to a bath where all good Muslims performed the purification ritual before prayer.

The construction elements include solid bricks, lime concrete and sand. The fountain is made up of three spouts, which fall into basins. It was used as a water supply for the local residents, a natural washing place and a watering place for horses.

Church of Santa Ana

Benamocarra, Malaga

The building is located in the Plaza Eduardo Ocón and was built at the end of the 16th century. Its interior consists of three naves with pointed arches and pillars, and is notable for the Mudejar-style framework on the ceiling of the main nave. The exterior tower, with a rectangular base, follows the Mudejar model, but both the elevation and the tower were remodelled in 1949, losing part of their original appearance.

In the surrounding area are the Plaza de El Calvario and the Plaza de la Constitución, as well as ancient archways and inner courtyards connected by arches, which mark the separation between the old and the new town.

Monolith in homage to Eduardo Ocón

Benamocarra, Malaga

The village pays homage to Mr. Eduardo Ocón, one of the most important musicians in Malaga and Spain, with a monolith in his memory.

Born in Benamocarra on 12 January 1833, Ocón was a composer and organist. At the age of 18 he became the second organist at Malaga Cathedral. He studied in Paris and, after his return to Malaga, he took charge of the Conservatory of Music and regained his position at the Cathedral, where he promoted the restoration of the organ of Julián de la Orden. His compositions include seven masses, the Miserere, the Rapsodia Andaluza and the Cantos Españoles.

In 2026 it will be 100 years since his death.

Mosaics of Benamocarra

Benamocarra, Malaga

Along a route through the village there are a series of ceramic mosaics, twelve ceramic murals embedded in the façades, installed in strategic places in the town centre, reviving the historical memory of Benamocarra.

They tell us about the history, culture, customs, games and legends. There is one that refers to the geographical location of the village, another gives a brief historical review of the town, another that tells of the expulsion of the Moors, or the agricultural skills of its inhabitants.

Calvario Square

Benamocarra, Malaga

Located in the upper part of the village, at the confluence of the main streets of the town. In the centre is the monument to the land worker popularly known as "Manolo".

Santo Chiquito

Benamocarra, Malaga

It is a small chapel not used for religious worship. Inside there is a mosaic with the image of Christ, in small proportions, which is why it is known as the Santo Chiquito (Little Saint).

Muslim remains of the castle

C. Castillo, 23, 29716 Canillas de Aceituno, Málaga

From the castle viewpoint and the slope of Calle Calzada, you can still see the remains of the defensive wall which surrounded the village and which had once been a Muslim fortress, captured and occupied by Christians during the Reconquista of 1487 and converted into a castle.

 

16th-century Parish Church of Our Lady of the Rosary and St Leo the Great

C. Castillo, 7, 29716 Canillas de Aceituno, Málaga

Located in the upper part of the village in Canillas de Aceituno, with a terrace offering views over a beautiful landscape. Built on the site of the old mosque in the 16th century, its style is Gothic-Mudejar. It was renovated in the 19th century.

It has a tower at the chancel end which starts with a square base and ends in an octagonal shape. Inside, two 18th-century Baroque chapels, an image of the Virgin of La Cabeza, with silver attributes from the 18th and 19th centuries, an oil painting depicting the theme of the Piety dating from the late 17th century, and three medium-sized sculptures:

Saint Anthony, 17th century; Saint Francis Xavier, influenced by Zayas, early 18th century; and a Saint Anthony, from the circle of Mena, late 17th century.

In the sacristy There are some important silver pieces in the collection.

Algorfa Arabic

C. Rodríguez de la Fuente, 29718 Cútar, Málaga

Cútar is home to one of the few remaining ‘algorfas’ – or covered passageways – in the province of Málaga.

It is a former Arab granary, which now connects two streets.

One of the best examples of the Arab legacy in the Axarquía region of the Costa del Sol.

Hermitage of San Antón

C. San Antonio, 73, 29754 Cómpeta, Málaga

A simple hermitage built in the 18th century. According to Madoz's dictionary, this hermitage was 100 rods away from that of San Sebastián and was so poor that in 1799 it was only required to pay one maravedí to the Royal Subsidy.

Salvador Rueda House Museum

13 Real de Benaque Street, Macharaviaya

Benaque is a small hamlet situated 2 kilometres from Macharaviaya. In the surrounding area, we can visit the house where the poet Salvador Rueda was born on 2 December 1857, which he himself would describe in one of his poems as a «humble home». The poet’s birthplace It is a house where the poet’s personal belongings have been preserved almost exactly as he left them.

Salvador Rueda He undertook a poetic renewal in Spain, very similar to that carried out by Rubén Darío in Latin America. His works are notable for their colour and musicality, as expressed through new rhythms and original combinations, drawing on a wide variety of themes, particularly those relating to the natural world and the geography of Andalusia.

Virgen de las Angustias Chapel

Calle Angustias, 29750 Algarrobo, Málaga

It is a small chapel measuring just 3 by 3 metres, situated on the street of the same name, at what is now the village’s exit but was once its entrance. Inside, a statue of the Virgin of Las Angustias, dating from the early 20th century, is venerated. It is famous for the deep devotion it inspires among the local people.

Forfe Gardens

Calle Forfe, 29718 Almáchar, Málaga

The Forfe Gardens are a a traditional and scenic spot situated on the riverbank in the town of Almáchar, in the province of Málaga, in the Axarquía region, very close to the Cueva del Moro.

From this site, which has been restored for tourists this gives an overview in the southern part of the municipality. You can also make out the entrance to the Cueva del Moro. According to legend, this cave contains a treasure hidden by the last Moors before they fled following the Christian invasion.

La Fuente Street

Calle la Fuente, Cutar, Málaga

It is the main thoroughfare of the municipality; it runs through it from one end to the other, and most of the other streets lead off it, forming the boundary between the upper and lower districts. It takes its name because It is the path that leads to the Arab Fountain.

The paving consists of pebbles, bricks and marble, forming geometric patterns on the floor.

Medieval Cistern-Arabic Cistern

Canillas de Aceituno

Scattered around the village, different constructions show the importance of the use of water in these lands. An obligatory stop is the 16th century Arab or Medieval cistern, located in Calle Huertezuelo. Other more modern ones are those of El Pilar Grande and El Chico.

The balcony of the Axarquia

Canillas de Aceituno, Malaga

Canillas de Aceituno, with its network of winding, narrow streets, reflects its Moorish origins. The village has no squares, and its streets are characterised by their entrance arches, such as those on Calle Agua and Calleja. Notable sights include the Casa de los Diezmos, the Casa Esgrafiada with its Moorish details, the Arab cistern, the 16th-century Church of Nuestra Señora del Rosario, and the remains of the castle in the square of the same name.

However, The most impressive thing is the floral decorations that adorn its streets, making flowers key features of the local architecture.

Canillas de Aceituno is part of the Mudejar Route and retains a unique charm thanks to its Muslim heritage; in some of its winding streets, we find ‘algorfas’ – entrance arches – such as those on Calle Agua and Calle Calleja.

El Saltillo de Canillas de Aceituno

Canillas de Aceituno, Malaga

The El Saltillo route is part of Canillas de Aceituno and links up with the neighbouring village, Sedella, and with the The Great Path of Malaga. In a gorge linking the municipalities of Sedella and Canillas de Aceituno, one of the three largest suspension bridges in Spain’s natural landscapes has been built over the Almanchares river, at a height of 78 metres, 50 metres long and 1.20 metres wide. In addition, the metal walkways have been repaired and adapted to ensure safe passage, and new footpaths have been laid out.

It is situated in the heart of the Sierras Tejeda, Almijara and Alhama Natural Park. It offers views of the Axarquía, La Maroma (the highest point in Málaga) and even the sea.

The El Saltillo Suspension Bridge, built of steel and wood, is situated on one of the stages of the Great Trail as it passes through the Axarquía and connects the municipalities of Sedella and Canillas de Aceituno. It is one of the three largest suspension bridges in Spain situated in natural surroundings and offers spectacular views. It has 50 metres long and is situated a further 50 metres above the bed of the River Almanchares, in the El Saltillo area. Furthermore, as it is situated right in the heart of the Sierra Tejeda, Almijara and Alhama Natural Park, it offers visitors the chance to discover the flora and fauna that inhabit the Almanchares River gorge, such as the mountain goat found in this area.

  • Duration: 4 hours (ascent and descent)
  • Difficulty: Medium–High
  • Tour: 8 km
  • How to do it: On foot.
Church of Our Lady of Expectation

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The Church of Nuestra Señora de la Expectación, located in the Plaza Nuestra Señora del Rosario, was built between the 16th and 17th centuries. It was originally a mosque and was later converted into a Christian church. Its rectangular floor plan is notable for its tower and its interior, with three naves separated by pillars and lowered arches. It preserves Mudejar elements, such as the choir and the wooden frames. The doorway has a semicircular arch, and the tower is decorated with brick and masonry. The sculpture of the Virgen de los Dolores (Virgin of Sorrows) and an image of Christ stand out.

Hermitage of Santa Ana

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The Hermitage of Santa Ana, located at the top of Canillas de Albaida, has its origins in Al-Andalus times, with its tower and the wall to the NW as the oldest structures. Initially a fortification, it was eventually transformed into a Christian temple. It is first mentioned in the Libro de Apeo y Repartimiento of 1572, where it is referred to as "the castle of the town". Subsequently, it was represented in the Cadastre of the Marquis of Ensenada in 1752, showing the changes it has undergone over time. Its buttresses and the dome over the tower stand out.

Hermitage of San Antón

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The Hermitage of San Antón, located in the lower part of Canillas de Albaida, dates from the 16th-17th centuries. Small in size, it has a single rectangular nave, the roof of which is closed by a wooden frame with loop braces. Inside, there is an altarpiece in polychrome wood in Rococo style, dating from the end of the 18th century, which houses the image of San Antón, also polychrome and from the same period. The doorway of the chapel is formed by a round arch flanked by pilasters, above which is a small niche with the image of San Antón.

Paraje de las Cuestas and Puente Romano (Roman Bridge)

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The Paraje de las Cuestas, in Canillas de Albaida, is home to two ancient Roman roads. One descends from the lower part of the village and the other ascends towards El Cerrillo, joined by the Roman Bridge over the River Turvilla. This bridle path, classified as a cattle track, was the old access to the municipality of Vélez-Málaga. The Roman Bridge, located to the south of the municipality, has undergone several transformations since its construction in Roman times. The original brick vault was replaced by ashlars, and the facing is made of ashlars. Its reconstruction has given it a twist to make it more vertical and resistant to the current.

Old Laundry

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The old washing place of Canillas de Albaida, located in the Axarquia region, is a witness to the history and customs of the village. Built with traditional architecture, it served as a space where women carried out the daily task of washing clothes. Located near a natural spring, in addition to its practical function, the washing place was a social meeting point where news and laughter were shared, strengthening community ties. The sound of water and daily conversations were its distinguishing feature.

Factory of Light

Canillas de Albaida, Malaga

The intense landscape of the Fábrica de la Luz is one of the best showcases of the Natural Park of the Sierras de Almijara, Tejeda and Alhama. And one of the enclaves of greatest natural beauty of the Axarquia. It is located just three kilometres from the village of Canillas de Albaida.

The Embassy Interpretation Centre

Interpretation Centre of La Embajada, Alfarnate, Malaga

The Museo de la Fiesta de "La Embajada" is located on the third floor of the Edificio de Usos Múltiples in Alfarnate. It has three exhibition halls displaying documents, objects and photographs related to the Moors and Christians Festival, The festival has been celebrated since the 17th century and has been declared a Festival of Provincial Tourist Interest in Malaga.

The festival commemorates the reconquest of Granada and the expulsion of the Moors, based on the anonymous 18th century romance "Las Relaciones". The main exhibits include a 15th century Libro de Repartimientos (Book of Repartimientos) and traditional Moorish costumes from the 19th century.

Hermitage of Our Lady of Candelaria

Colmenar, Malaga

The Hermitage of Nuestra Señora de la Candelaria is the main religious temple in Colmenar and houses its patron saint, the Virgen de la Candelaria, together with San Blas. Its current structure dates back to the 17th century, although it has been reformed on several occasions.

It stands out for its Baroque and Mannerist style, with a flat-roofed nave, a presbytery with a hemispherical vault and a decoration rich in cherubs and plant motifs. Its façade, simple but elegant, has a large semicircular arch and a belfry with three arches. Inside is the image of the Virgin, a sculpture from the 17th century Granada school, restored after the Civil War.

Church of Our Lady of the Assumption

Colmenar, Malaga

The current parish church It seems to have been built in the early 17th century and extended some 16 years later, funded by the townspeople and the Bishop of Málaga.

 On the church façade there is a plaque which, alongside the coat of arms of the Diocese of Málaga, reads as follows: «BY THE DEANS AND CHAPTER, WITH DR JOPH JILES PRETEL AS THEIR VISITOR. ACABOZE, YEAR 1658»; a tombstone which may provide evidence of the date of the temple’s final consecration. In subsequent years, it underwent various alterations.

 The temple features three high-rise buildings separated by semicircular arches resting on square pillars. The ceiling is wooden and, whilst not excessively ornate, exudes elegance and beauty. The transept and the high altar are covered by four cross vaults. Built in 1725, there is a rood screen at the foot of the church. Of particular note are the altars dedicated to Our Father Jesus and Our Lady of Sorrows.

As artistic pieces Of particular interest are a late 18th-century display case, made of white silver with paired columns resting on plinths at the corners and decorated with gilded silver figures, and a large semi-circular oil painting from the same century depicting the Assumption. The church’s façade is made of brick and is of no particular significance. However, this parish was once considerably wealthier; the Spanish Civil War and a lack of care and interest in its artistic and valuable artefacts contributed to the loss of altarpieces of some artistic value and the majority of its silverware. Extensive renovation work is currently underway at this parish church.

 

Archaeological Sites

Colmenar, Malaga

A recent piece of archaeological research that is of direct interest to us is that of José E. Ferrer. Thanks to him, we know that Colmenar is rich in Roman and Arab archaeological finds. The subject of the study was a necropolis, situated near the village, consisting of small rectangular megalithic cists, which could not be reliably dated either chronologically or culturally as they had been looted; however, it appears that these burials had contained, alongside the funerary pottery grave goods, skeletal remains in a foetal position.

Puerta de la Cruz

Colmenar, Malaga

The main entrance to the village is crowned by what we call the «Puerta de La Cruz». This consists of an artistic monolith which greets us and welcomes us beneath a belfry crowned by a semicircular arch.

In this construction, sThis is where the town’s coat of arms is displayed depicting a beehive with seven bees flying above it. We can also see a historical scene that takes us back to 25 May 1488, the date on which Hamet el Zuque transferred ownership of this village’s estate to Francisco de Coalla.

Palace Garden

Colmenar, Malaga

A tranquil garden at the top of the village, situated next to the Church of the Assumption, and from where you can enjoy some wonderful views. A place something to bear in mind if you want to take some time out in the shade, breathing in the fresh air and enjoying the peace and quiet.

Málaga Honey House Museum

Colmenar, Malaga

The town has an Interpretation Centre dedicated to promoting beekeeping, housed in the former headquarters of the Farmers’ Guild.

The The Honey Museum is an interpretation centre for beekeeping which has a an extensive collection of objects used throughout history for beekeeping and for its conservation. The Honey Museum houses themed galleries, a classroom-workshop, a shop and the offices of the Málaga Beekeepers’ Association. The centre features information panels, seven large screens and large-scale models of beehives and a bee over two metres long.

The site welcomes visits from school groups and tourists looking for cultural and educational experiences. Guided tours to the beehives, wearing a beekeeper’s suit. Groups wishing to visit the Honey Museum, including a field trip to our beehives, should book a date and contact the Museum. This is organised accompanied by instructors specialised. Guided tours are available on weekday mornings and afternoons, and at weekends and on public holidays only if booked in advance for groups of at least 10 people.

Francisco Blanco Winery

Colmenar, Malaga

A family-run winery that has been passed down from generation to generation to the present day, producing wines using the most traditional techniques that have long brought prestige to the wines of the Montes de Málaga. It uses the old presses still found in its traditional wine-treading cellar and its oak casks for ageing.  He is currently working on dry, sweet and reserve wines, and currently has a wineskin containing wine “Pedro Ximénez”, dating from 1962. It is, naturally, the winery’s oldest wine.

The building that currently houses Francisco Blanco’s winery is one of the oldest in Colmenar: It used to be a village school, and it seems there was also a prison there. It has recently been refurbished, creating a space that can be visited as a small ethnographic museum, featuring tools used for farm work and the grape harvest.

 

 

Manor houses

Colmenar, Malaga

A stroll through Colmenar will allow visitors to see Andalusian manor houses and courtyards from the mid-19th century.  Two- and three-storey manor houses, some with Andalusian courtyards, dating from the mid-19th century. The streets are wide in the lower part of the town and, as they climb towards the church, they become narrower and steeper, clearly defining the historic centre.

On your sightseeing tour through the town’s streets, you’ll also be able to admire the niches that can still be seen on many of the façades.

Mazmúllar Cistern

Comares, Malaga

The 13th century Mozarabic cistern, declared a national historic-artistic monument in May 1931. It is a rectangular underground work (7'7 x 5'75 and 4,2 high), distributed in 9 compartments separated by 12 horseshoe arches, by 4 cruciform basins and horseshoe cone that support elongated groined vaults, made of masonry and ashlars.
The walls are made of reddish clay, probably to make them waterproof. Its storage capacity has been estimated at 120,000 litres.

Moorish Arches and Muslim Arches Street

Comares, Malaga

To walk through the winding streets of Comares is to walk through the history of the Axarquia, as Comares, due to its strategic location within the region, was an area populated by the different cultures that settled in Andalusia.

Its streets have strong Arab reminiscences, as for centuries it had a strong Andalusian influence. One of the streets that speaks to us of this is the Calle de los Arcos, a narrow winding street with Moorish arches from the medieval period.

Monument to the Partygoer

Comares, Malaga

The Plaza de los Verdiales is named after this folkloric expression, which is of great importance in Comares.

It is located in the centre of the municipality, although it is not the main square. Without a doubt, it is a place not to be missed when coming to Comares.

El Fiestero is located in the Plaza de los Verdiales in Comares, it is a life-size monument that represents a villager playing the tambourine in a verdial singing posture. Every year, the meeting of the "Pandas de Verdiales" is held here as part of the Fiesta, which has been declared of national tourist interest and is accompanied by a tasting of local products.

Malaga Gate

Comares, Malaga

The Malaga Gate. An important defensive bastion, it was the main entrance to the town square. The surrender of Comares to the Christian forces took place under its walls, as is reflected in the carving on the choir stalls of Toledo Cathedral, marked with the number 14 on the side of the epistle, where we can see the moment when the keys of the town were handed over to Cristobal de Slava, governor of the town of Marchena, who was sent to Comares for this purpose.

These were the only 2 access gates to Comares Castle:

1.- Puerta de Vélez-Málaga or Agua.

2.- Puerta de Málaga.

Plaza de los Verdiales

Comares, Malaga

The verdiales are a musical and festive expression deeply rooted in Andalusian tradition, with its own style in the Comares region. They are characterised by their melodic rhythm and vibrant performance, played by pandas made up of violin, guitars, tambourine, cymbals and lute, under the direction of an "alcalde". Their cultural richness and unique style reflect the identity of the area, maintaining a tradition that has endured for centuries.

La Tahona Bastion Castle

Comares, Malaga

Comares, an old rocky and rocky balcony, is surrounded by cliffs and escarpments that serve as natural defences, suggesting a past steeped in history. The walled remains undoubtedly had much to do with its castle - the famous castle of Comares - from an uncertain but very distant period, transformed during the Muslim occupation into a fortress of great proportions that occupied and surrounded the mountainous area where the village sits, in the same place where the cemetery is located today.

However, little remains of this fortress, but the most outstanding vestige is the "tahona", the remains of the great wall that surrounded the primitive Comares Castle.

Church of Our Lady of the Incarnation

Comares, Malaga

The Parish Church of Nuestra Señora de la Encarnación is the main church in Comares and stands out for its architecture with Mudejar and Renaissance influences. Its interior has an impressive coffered ceiling and a chapel of the Sagrario with a rococo dome. Over time, it has been enlarged and restored, maintaining its importance as a historical and cultural reference point for the municipality.

Comares Castle Cistern

Comares, Malaga

Located today within the Campo Santo, water in Comares has always been a vital element for life. storing it has always been a concern for its inhabitants.

Maxmullar Table

Comares, Malaga

It has been studied in detail and numerous samples have been collected from the subsoil and surface, finding various pieces of pottery, amphorae, mosaics and even skeletons, for all of which various hypotheses have been put forward, including the hypothesis that Bobastro was located on the Mesa de Maxmúllar. What can be confirmed is the existence of a Mozarabic settlement that could well have been a refuge for Omar Ben Hafsún.

At the Maxmúllar table we will find:

  • A 13th century Mozarabic cistern, declared a national historic-artistic monument in May 1931.
  • The Mansion: These are the remains of a Mozarabic dwelling, of the kind that existed in the past, at the edge of the earth, made up of 3 perfectly treated rooms and in one of which you can see a stone-mill where the ancient settlers crushed wheat.
  • Anthropomorphic Tombs: Graves carved into the living rock.
  • Daggerboards: about 30 daggerboards dug out of the stone used to store grain.
Mazmúllar Cistern

Comares, Malaga

At the Mesa de Mazmúllar, we can find a cistern declared Arab National Historic and Artistic Monument in 1931, based on the description of it provided by Mr Rodrigo Amador de los Ríos, a structure dating from the 11th–13th centuries AD, consisting of an elegant gallery of horseshoe arches.

It is situated, as we say, in a deserted area known as the Mazmúllar Plateau which can be reached after an hour’s walk.

This cistern it is rectangular in shape and is divided into nine compartments by four cruciform piers and a horseshoe-shaped cone supporting elongated ribbed vaults. It measures 7.7 by 5.7 metres.

Also on Cerro de Mazmúllar there are the remains of a city dating from the 9th to the 10th centuries, destroyed and subsequently rebuilt. It is known to have been one of Omar Ben Hafsun’s main defensive strongholds; indeed, it was such an important site that the Mesa de Mazmullar, near Comares, is identified as the capital of that kingdom during the early period of the Cordoban Caliphate.

 

 

Mazmúllar Plateau

Comares, Malaga

Remains of a city between the 9th and 10th centuries. Various pieces of pottery, amphorae, mosaics and even skeletons have been found. The remains of some of the houses can still be seen, as well as the famous cistern.

La Tahona Bastion Castle

Comares, Malaga

All that remains of the Castillo Baluarte La Tahoma is the remains of a wall, from an uncertain period. What is known is that it was transformed into a large fortress during the Muslim occupation, built on the site now occupied by the cemetery.

The castle, of Arab origin, was in turn built on the site of an ancient Roman fortress. The remains of the fortress are popularly known as "La Tahona", and from the top you can contemplate a wonderful general view of the village, which seems to be suspended on a rock, as well as the impressive massif of Sierra Tejeda to the north and the sea to the south. In fact, Comares is called the Balcony of the Axarquia in Malaga.

Church of Ntra. Sra. de la Encarnación

Comares, Malaga

The parish church of Our Lady of the Incarnation dates from 1505. Particular highlights include the Mudejar coffered ceiling in the chancel and the central nave. The Chapel of the Tabernacle, built in 1721, features a Rococo dome of some merit. The tower, which was added after the church was built, although it also dates from the 16th century, is in the Mudejar style.

The Church of Comares is the most outstanding monument in its history. As soon as the town was conquered, it formed part of the so-called "vicariate of Malaga".

Over the years, the church of Comares has undergone a number of repairs and extensions, especially at the end of the 17th century and during the 18th century, The sacristy was enlarged in 1721, when the Sagrario chapel was built.

The main façade of the church faces south. Behind the chancel there is a courtyard which once served as a cemetery. The church comprises three naves, seven pointed arches with chamfered archivolts, and four pilasters with projecting bases and a floor of standard Nasrid-style paving. The roof is truly impressive. It consists of a very well-preserved trough, featuring rich geometric fretwork and a central bow motif with a muqarnas. It has five paired struts, with the outer ones set into the structure, and also features Renaissance-style corbels. According to records, this wooden structure was built in the 16th century and the timber was brought from Cartagena.

The chancel is square in plan, with a hipped roof featuring hip domes and a finial. The beams of the side aisles rest on wooden corbels. Both the coffered ceilings of the central nave and those of the chancel are in the Mudejar style. The high altarpiece was once of great merit, but it was destroyed in 1931. It was completely rebuilt in 1948. The side chapel of the Tabernacle features a single spherical dome, richly decorated. Externally, it forms an octagonal tower. It is believed that the chapel and the Sagrario tower were built by a sailor, because of a promise he made when he found himself in danger of shipwreck.

en_GBEnglish

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Don't miss the best plans to enjoy the Axarquia!